Go to the 4 chapters of the website Go to the section of the selected chapter Go to the text of the page
To the 6 parts of chapter The town and the abbey
You are here : Home > The town and the abbey > The town within its walls
Chronological information : From the mid-14th to the 16th century
Title, subtitle and main picture of the page
The town in troubled times
From the mid-14th to the 16th century


Go to page 1 and 2 of section : The town within its walls
The town in troubled times
Layout of the monumental complex, late 16th century.
© UASD / M. Wyss ; Th. Sagory
Fonction that allow you to see this page in various waysSee the reconstructed view of the monumental complex
See the layout
See the 3D reconstructed view
Reconstituted view of the monumental complex, late 16th century. Based on Sylvain Le Stum and Béatrice Jullien works. © Ministère de la culture / M. Wyss ; A.-B. Pimpaud ; M.-O. Agnes.
Text of the page The town protects itself
At the start of the Hundred Years' War, the abbey was concerned with protecting itself. The abbey's chronicles tell us that, in 1347, Saint-Denis began "to create defensive ditches in the vicinity of the town". The ditch discovered during an archaeological dig in the Saint-Remi quarter probably dates from this period. Starting in 1356, the abbot and the regent Charles-the future Charles V-joined forces to build a city wall. Ten years later, however, the town was still not defensible. The king thus ordered the outlying suburb of Saint-Remi to be demolished. The town retrenched behind a smaller perimeter wall. It surrounded the monastic town, Saint-Marcel and the Estrée neighborhood, but left out Saint-Nicolas-des-Aulnes, Saint-Remi and the major portion of the abbey's orchard, La Couture, which was surrounded only by a simple wall. The town's new wall featured five gate-towers, providing access to the principal roads.

The disasters of the Hundred Years' War
From 1410 to 1436, the town suffered successive attacks by the Burgundians, the Armagnacs and the English. In wartime, Saint-Denis was a strategic site. Its control of the roads north of Paris meant that its occupants could deprive the capital of supplies by cutting off its access to the fertile fields of the Pays de France. The abbey itself was a site worth occupying, as it held the relics of the country's patron saint, the guarantor of the kingdom, and maintained an ancient and privileged connection with France's royalty. In addition, the abbey's treasury-one of the richest in the medieval West-was an object of envy, as it could be used to finance wars. Progressively, the various invading armies transformed the abbey complex into a citadel. In 1435, the town was recaptured from the English by Dunois, the Bastard of Orleans. The wall was partially dismantled and the town's inhabitants fled, seeking refuge in Paris.

Urban development stagnates
During this period of upheaval, practically the only architectural work carried out was on the town's religious buildings. The Saint-Marcel church was enlarged and given an ossuary-crypt. Secular construction, on the other hand, stagnated. The abandonment of a part of the housing meant that small parcels of land could be consolidated. A continuous frontage of small houses is maintained only in the town's squares and market streets. In economic terms, the town entered a difficult period. At the same time, the abbey's revenues were strained by the decline in the Lendit Fair, which would start up again in 1444.

Signs of economic recovery
In 1529, François I appointed the cardinal Louis de Bourbon as abbot commendataire Commendataire
------------------------------------------------------
Abbot who benefited from the prebend, a personal share of the revenues from an abbey's estate.
to the abbey. The cardinal was a member of the royal family, and he was the first in a series of nine abbots, who were lay or secular ecclesiastics. To reconnect with the splendour of the abbots of the fourteenth century, in 1530 the cardinal ordered work to begin on a sumptuous dwelling. Around 1572, Catherine de Medicis began work on the Valois mausoleum, located to the north of the abbey-church Abbey-church
------------------------------------------------------
The main church of an abbey.
. Local artisans benefited from this upturn in construction: the abbey's account books mention the merchants and craftspersons who took part in these projects and who, for the most part, lived in Saint-Denis.

Fresh troubles.
In 1567, Saint-Denis was once again disrupted by the Hugenot occupation. The monks, taking the treasury with them, sought refuge in Paris, abandoning the monastery to the heretics who caused a great deal of damage and laid waste to most of the churches of the monumental complex. The Saint-Paul church was practically destroyed, forcing the canons Canon
------------------------------------------------------
a member of a religious order who lives according to the "Rule of Saint Augustine", and whose chapter is attached to a collegiate church.
to withdraw to a portion of its side aisle that was set up as a chapel dedicated to Saint-Pantaleon. In the same way, the Sainte-Geneviève, Saint-Michel-du-Degré and Saint-Barthélemy churches were damaged. The seats of the three parishes were therefore united in a single building, partially reconstructed, which archaeology has shown possessed a single choir with three small apses. Records state that the three clerics were required to live "peacefully together until two of them being dead, their titles would be eliminated and the last survivor would remain the sole cleric". The choir, which probably held three altars, is the manifestation of this provisional arrangement.

End of the text of the page
Back to the top of the page
To know more...
Saint-Denis in pictures
-----------------------------------
Lendit fair
-----------------------------------

The Saint-Marcel church
Étoile de séparation
The Valois mausoleum
Étoile de séparation
The funerary monument
of a middle-class couple

-----------------------------------

Belleforest's layout
Étoile de séparation
The battle of Saint-Denis
Étoile de séparation
Saint-Denis from the
beginnings to the present day
Now it's your turn
------------
The mapmaker's puzzle
------------
The imaginary travels
of Mr. Van Buchel
------------

Pour aller au menu des 4 grands chapitres Pour aller aux différentes rubriques du chapitre sélectionné Pour aller au texte de la page
Navigation entre les 6 rubriques du chapitre La ville et l'abbaye
Vous êtes ici : Accueil > La ville et l'abbaye > La ville dans ses remparts
Indication de chronologie : cette page correspond a une période allant du milieu du XIVe au XVIe siècle
Titre et sous titre de la page ainsi que sont visuel principal
La ville dans la tourmente
du milieu du XIVe au XVIe siècle


Navigation entre la page 1 et 2 de la rubrique : La ville dans ses remparts
La ville dans la tourmente
Plan d'évolution
de la ville.
État du milieu
du XVe siècle
© UASD / M. Wyss ; Th. Sagory
Utilitaire permettant de visualiser l'image principale de cette page sous différentes formesVisualiser la reconstitution
Visualiser le plan
Visualiser en 3 dimensions
Restitution de l'ensemble monumental. État à la fin du XVIe siècle. Établie sur la base de dessins réalisés par Sylvain Le Stum sous la direction de Béatrice Jullien. © Ministère de la culture / M. Wyss ; A.-B. Pimpaud ; M.-O. Agnes.
Texte de la page La ville se met à l'abri
Dès le début de la guerre de Cent Ans, l'abbaye se préoccupe de sa protection. Les chroniques rapportent que, dès 1347, on commence à "faire des fosses en l'environ de la ville". C'est probablement de cette époque que date un fossé découvert en fouille dans le quartier Saint-Remi. À partir de 1356, l'abbé et le régent Charles, le futur Charles V, joignent leurs efforts pour édifier un rempart. Mais, dix ans plus tard, Saint-Denis n'est toujours pas en état d'être défendue : aussi le roi ordonne-t-il que le faubourg Saint-Remi soit rasé. La ville se replie alors derrière une enceinte au périmètre plus réduit. Elle englobe le bourg monastique, Saint-Marcel et le quartier de l'Estrée, mais exclut Saint-Nicolas-des-Aulnes, Saint-Remi et la majeure partie du verger de l'abbaye, la Couture, que l'on entoure d'un simple mur de clôture. La nouvelle enceinte est percée de cinq tours-portes établies sur les principaux axes de circulation.

Les désastres de la guerre de Cent Ans
De 1410 à 1436, la ville est assaillie successivement par les Bourguignons, les Armagnacs et les Anglais. En ces temps de guerre, Saint-Denis, qui contrôle l'accès nord de Paris, est un site stratégique car, en l'occupant, on peut priver la capitale de ravitaillement en la coupant des campagnes fertiles du Pays de France. L'abbaye est elle-même une place à prendre. Elle conserve les reliques du saint patron, garant du royaume, et entretient des liens anciens et privilégiés avec la royauté. De plus, son trésor, l'un des plus riches de l'Occident médiéval, attire les convoitises car il permet de financer les guerres. Progressivement, les troupes de passage transforment le complexe abbatial en citadelle. En 1435, la ville est reprise aux Anglais par Dunois, le Bâtard d'Orléans. L'enceinte urbaine est partiellement démantelée et la ville se vide de ses habitants qui cherchent refuge à Paris.

L'évolution urbaine stagne
Durant cette période mouvementée, les réalisations architecturales ne concernent plus guère que les édifices religieux. L'église Saint-Marcel est alors agrandie et dotée d'une crypte-ossuaire. En revanche, la construction civile stagne. L'abandon d'une partie de l'habitat favorise le remembrement des petites parcelles. C'est uniquement le long des places et des rues commerçantes que le front continu des petites maisons se maintient. Sur le plan économique, la ville entre alors dans une période difficile. Parallèlement, le revenu de l'abbaye est grevé par le déclin de la foire du Lendit qui reprend en 1444.

Les signes d'une reprise économique
En 1529, François Ier impose à l'abbaye comme abbé commendataire abbé commendataire
------------------------------------------------------
abbé bénéficiant de la commende, jouissance, à titre personnel, des revenus de la mense abbatiale.
le cardinal Louis de Bourbon, un membre de la famille royale ; il inaugure ainsi une succession de neuf abbés, ecclésiastiques séculiers ou laïcs. Pour renouer avec le faste des abbés du XIVe siècle, le cardinal fait entreprendre, à partir de 1530, la construction d'un somptueux logis. Vers 1572, Catherine de Médicis met en chantier le mausolée des Valois, situé au nord de l'abbatiale abbatiale
------------------------------------------------------
église principale d'une abbaye.
. L'activité artisanale locale bénéficie de ce regain dans la construction. Les comptes de l'abbaye citent les marchands et les artisans qui participent à ces travaux et qui, pour la plupart, habitent Saint-Denis.

Nouveaux malheurs...
En 1567, Saint-Denis est à nouveau bouleversée par l'occupation huguenote. Les moines se réfugient avec le trésor à Paris, abandonnant le monastère aux hérétiques qui y font nombre de dégâts. Les églises de l'ensemble monumental sont, pour la plupart, dévastées. Saint-Paul est quasiment détruite, ce qui oblige les chanoines chanoines
------------------------------------------------------
religieux vivant en communauté, selon la « règle de saint Augustin » et formant un chapitre rattaché à une église collégiale.
à se replier dans une portion de son collatéral aménagé en chapelle dédiée à saint Pantaléon. De même, Sainte-Geneviève, Saint-Michel-du-Degré et Saint-Barthélemy sont endommagés. Les sièges des trois paroisses sont alors réunis en un bâtiment, partiellement reconstruit, dont l'archéologie a révélé un chevet singulier à trois absidioles. Or, les annales rapportent que leurs trois curés étaient tenus de vivre "paisiblement ensemble jusqu'à ce que deux d'iceux étant morts, leurs titres seroient supprimés et que le dernier survivant demeuroit seul curé". Le chevet, qui probablement abritait trois autels, matérialise donc cet arrangement provisoire.

Fin de la page de texte
Remonter vers le haut de la page